

# GREATER FORT WORTH (GFW) SECTION REPORT TO THE TEXITE EXECUTIVE BOARD ANNUAL REPORT JANUARY 2012 THROUGH DECEMBER 2012

### 1.0 LEADERSHIP

President:	David Jodray, City of Fort Worth
Vice-President:	Jennifer Butcher, Savant Group
Secretary / Treasurer:	Erin Eurek, Kimley-Horn and Associates
Section Representative:	Natalie Bettger, North Central Texas Council of Governments
Past President:	Mitzi Ward, North Central Texas Council of Governments

#### 2.0 FINANCIAL STATUS

Section checking account balance as of December 2012 was \$1,015.01 with a balance of \$1,502.23 in our savings account.

#### 3.0 MEMBERSHIP

The Greater Fort Worth Section currently has 89 paid members including 69 non-agency members and 20 members that belong through agency membership. The Section collects the annual membership dues of \$8 ourselves for non-agency members and agency membership dues are paid to the Section by International ITE.

### 4.0 MONTHLY MEETINGS

The GFW Section holds regular monthly meetings on the third Thursday of each month, with exceptions made for the two months each year during which the TexITE statewide meetings are held. Section meetings are usually held at Joe T Garcia's restaurant located at 2201 N. Commerce St. north of downtown Fort Worth. The dates, speakers, topics, and attendance for each meeting held for 2012 are shown in *Table 1*.

Date	Speaker, Title	Location
January 19	Susan Langdon, P.E., PTOE, Savant Group, Inc. "Traffic Engineering Council Highlights"	Joe T. Garcia's, Fort Worth
February 16	Curvie Hawkins, AICP, Fort Worth Transportation Authority " <b>Spur Enhanced Bus Corridor Project</b> "	Joe T. Garcia's, Fort Worth
March 28 – 30	TexITE 2012 District 9 Spring Meeting	San Marcos, TX
April 19	Cesar Quiroga, Ph.D., P.E., Texas Transportation Institute "Impacts of Energy Facilities on the Roadways"	Joe T. Garcia's, Fort Worth
May 17	Norman Hogue, P.E., City of Waco Dan Vedral, P.E., City of Irving John Romberger, P.E., City of Carrollton "Flashing Yellow Arrow Panel Discussion"	Joe T. Garcia's, Fort Worth

Table 1.	Summary	of 2012	Section	Meetings
----------	---------	---------	---------	----------

Jennifer Butcher, Section President, Savant Group Inc. Erin Eurek, Section Vice-President, Kimley-Horn and Associates, Inc Mark Mathis, Section Secretary/Treasurer, Urban Engineers, Inc. Don Szczesny, Section Representative, Dunaway Associates David Jodray, Section Past-President, City of Fort Worth



# GREATER FORT WORTH SECTION DISTRICT 9 (TEXAS) INSTITUTE OF TRANSPORTATION ENGINEERS

June 8	Joint Dallas/Fort Worth Regional Meeting	Ruthe Jackson Center, Grand Prairie
July 19	Tom Grant, P.E., Kimley-Horn and Associates, Inc. Janet Tharp, Kimley-Horn and Associates, Inc. Jeff Whitacre, P.E., AICP, Kimley-Horn and Associates, Inc. "Complete Streets Design Workshop"	Joe T. Garcia's, Fort Worth
August 29 – 31	TexITE 2012 District 9 Fall Meeting	Fort Worth Renaissance Hotel
September 20	Kevin Feldt, AICP, NCTCOG "Cotton Belt Innovative Finance Initiative"	Joe T. Garcia's, Fort Worth
October 18	Greg J. Royster, P.E., DFW International Airport "DFW Airport Rail Program"	Joe T. Garcia's, Fort Worth
November 16	Technical Tour – DFW International Airport Terminal E	DFW International Airport
December 14	Brian Barth, P.E., Texas Department of Transportation "Major Projects in the Fort Worth District"	TxDOT Regional Training Center, Fort Worth

### 5.0 COMMITTEES

At the December 14 meeting, the new officers for 2013 were announced. Please see the new officers list below.

President:	Jennifer Butcher, Savant Group
Vice-President:	Erin Eurek, Kimley-Horn and Associates
Secretary / Treasurer:	Mark Mathis, Urban Engineers, Inc.
Section Representative:	Don Szczesny, Dunaway Associates
Past President:	David Jodray, City of Fort Worth

Below we have listed the Committees for 2012 as well as the new Committees based on membership feedback:

Membership Co-chairs:	Tim Wallace (Wier Associates); and Brendon Wheeler (Wier Associates)
Community Services:	Open
Technical:	Mark C. Schluter, P.E. (Aguirre & Fields) – Chair Sergio Molina (Oncor Electrical Delivery) Madhusudan Venugopal (Providence Engineering & Environmental Group)

Jennifer Butcher, Section President, Savant Group Inc. Erin Eurek, Section Vice-President, Kimley-Horn and Associates, Inc Mark Mathis, Section Secretary/Treasurer, Urban Engineers, Inc. Don Szczesny, Section Representative, Dunaway Associates David Jodray, Section Past-President, City of Fort Worth



# GREATER FORT WORTH SECTION DISTRICT 9 (TEXAS) INSTITUTE OF TRANSPORTATION ENGINEERS

Nominating:	Brian Shamburger, Kimley-Horn and Associates, Inc. Greg Royster, DFW Airport Roy Parikh, Texas Department of Transportation
Tellers:	Gary Jost, Teal Engineering Services, Inc. Roy Parikh, Texas Department of Transportation Lissette Acevedo, City of Fort Worth
Audit:	Alex Garcia, Freese and Nichols, Inc. Matt Ciarkowski, Kimley-Horn and Associates, Inc. Gregory Masota, North Central Texas Council of Governments

#### 6.0 OTHER BUSINESS

The GFW Section was excited to host the 2012 Fall TexITE Meeting in the Fort Worth area. TexITE Greater Fort Worth Officers, Jennifer Butcher and Natalie Bettger co-chaired the Local Arrangement Committee (LAC). Other GFW Section members provided assistance during the Fall TexITE Meeting.

The GFW Section along with the Dallas Section co-sponsored the Future City Competition, which is a middle-school educational outreach program designed to foster an interest in technology and engineering.

Respectfully Submitted by:

Don Szczesny, GFW Section Representative