Institute of Transportation Engineers ANNUAL REPORT OF STUDENT CHAPTER ACTIVITIES

Student Chapter of: University of Texas at Arlington

From April 1, 2013 to March 31, 2014

1. Student Chapter Officers

April 1, 2013- Dec 31-2013 Jan 1, 2014- March 31, 2014

President: Arezoo Memarian Arezoo Memarian

Vice-President: Maryam Zabihi Maryam Zabihi (Acting President)

Secretary/Treasurer: Essam K. Nassar Michael Linder **Public Relation:** - Mohammed Rajani

2. Student Chapter membership

Number of Student Chapter members: 53

Number of faculty members who are current ITE members: ${\bf 3}$

3. Information on Transportation Engineering Enrollment

Number of undergraduate Students (Sophomore-Senior years) in civil Engineering Department: **337**

Does your curriculum allow an undergraduate student to major or minor in Transportation? **No**

Number of Graduate students in Transportation: 24

- 4. Summary of student chapter activities: Please see the attached report for summary
- 5. Summary of student chapter members: Please see the attached report for summary

Report Submitted by:

Contents Approved by:

Maryam Zabihi,

UTA Student Chapter Vice-President

Phone: 817-272-0251

Email: maryam.zabihi@mavs.uta.edu

Date: April 1, 2014

Dr. Stephen Mattingly,

UTA Student Chapter Advisor

Phone: 817-272-2859

Email: : mattingly@uta.edu

Date: April 1, 2014

President's Message

The University of Texas at Arlington Institute of Transportation Engineers Student Chapter is pleased to present our Annual Report for the 2013-2014 school year. This year was full of individual and group progress and achievements. In this report the summary of what we have done and what we have gained in the previous year is shown. We aim to introduce both undergraduate and graduate students to the field of transportation, in general, and hot topics in the field, in particular, by organizing monthly seminars and site visits. This program has been very successful and students eagerly attend the seminars and participate in other activities. Some of the highlights from this past year include:

- Competed in 2013 TexIte Traffic Bowl Competition
- Hosted three general meetings
- Attend multiple TexIte Meeting and presented several presentations
- Provided service, social, field trip, and network opportunities to our members
- Won outstanding student member award from TexIte
- Held the election to replace the officers who got internship positions

I would like to thank our past president **Ziaur Rahman** for all his efforts in helping UTA Ite Student Chapter during his 2012-13 term as president. I also would like to recognize the efforts of **Essam Nassar** who was elected as secretary/treasurer officers primarily for the year 2013-14. But later during the last semester, he got an internship position and was not able to continue his collaboration with us. Therefore, we held another election on February 4, 2014, in order to fill his position. We also had another opening position as public relation officer. Our new treasurer and public relation officer are **Michael Linder** and **Mohammed Rajani**. Moreover, our chapter president **Arezoo Memarian** is also not able to work with us during this semester because of the same reason. But, she is going to join the chapter for the upcoming semester.

I would also like to give a special thanks to our supportive advisor **Dr. Stephen Mattingly**.

On behalf of UTA Ite student chapter, I hope you enjoy reading our report. Thanks! Maryam Zabihi,

Vice-President (Acting president), UTA Ite Student Chapter

Technical Meetings

In an effort to increase our members' interest, understanding, and general and technical knowledge of the field, monthly meetings are held with technical speakers. A wide variety of topics from both the public and private sector are covered by our speakers. Besides, during these monthly meeting students are able to take the benefit of interacting with professionals on many different levels and build their networks. Meetings are attended by 30 to 40 students as well as researchers and faculty. Food is always served to encourage and reward attendance.

• Wednesday 18, September, 2013

Speaker: Robert Saylor, PE, PTOE, MCSE
Traffic Engineering Operations Manager, City of Richardson

Title: Adaptive Traffic Signal Systems

• Wednesday 16, October, 2013

Speakers: Sasanka Pulipati

Ph.D. Candidate, University of Texas at Arlington

Dr. Stephen Mattingly Associate Professor, the University of Texas at Arlington

Title: General Awareness on Fuel Tax and Transportation Funding

• Wednesday 19, February, 2014

Speakers: **David Recht**, **PE**

Project Manager, City of Dallas

Title: Downtown Dallas Streetcar System

Technical Field Trips

• October 10, 2013: Field trip to DalTrans

UTA Ite students traveled to the traffic management center for the Dallas half of the DFW Metroplex.

Professionals Conferences

• 2013 Spring Meeting- Richardson

UTA Ite was represented at the 2013 Texas District Spring Meeting in Richardson, TX. In Total, 5 students attended the conference. UTA Ite member, **Ziaur Rahman** presented his research at the student poster session. His presentation title is "Development of a Freeway Incident Rating System Based on Fuzzy Logic Approach". This meeting was a good opportunity for students to network with transportation practitioners, transportation researchers, and fellow students from around the state.

• 2013 Fall Meeting- Clear Lake

UTAIte was represented at the 2013 Texas District Fall Meeting in Clear Lake, TX. At the meeting, UTA Ite member, **Ziaur Rahman**, was the proud recipient of the IteTexas Outstanding Student Member Award. In Addition, two of the members, **Mohammed Rajani** and **Mauro Santos**, presented their research on "Integrating local funding with statewide funding - The decision maker's perspective".

Professionals Conferences

• Traffic Bowl

UTA Ite competed at the 2013 TexIte Collegiate Student Traffic Bowl. Our team was including **Essam Nasser**, **Mohammad Khan**, and **Ahmed Edrees**. The UTA Ite students will compete at the 2014 traffic bowl competition.





Membership Roster-Bachelor's Student

Sr. No.	First name	Last name	Degree
1	Temitope	Abayomi	BS
2	Iman	Abbasnia	BS
3	Ivette	Aguilar	BS
4	Korey D.	Coburn	BS
5	Long	Dinh	BS
6	Ahmed Z.	Edrees	BS
7	Jonathon M.	Edwards	BS
8	Kelsey	Fort	BS
9	Jean Carlos	Gamarra	BS
10	Julio	Gaucin	BS
11	Eyob	Gemechu	BS
12	Milad	Haneen	BS
13	Paul N.	Hoang	BS
14	Kristen	Jackson	BS
15	Max L.	Kimbimbi	BS
16	Michael	Linder	BS
17	Andrew	Makardetsh	BS
18	Yhamirth Emmanuel	Mendoza	BS
19	Nadia	Naji	BS
20	Guillermo	Palacios	BS
21	Jeff	Philipp	BS
22	Jacqueline	Rojas	BS
23	Jose	Rojas	BS
24	Mauro	Santos	BS
25	Samir	Shrestha	BS
26	Michael	Shumate	BS
27	Xuan	Wang	BS
28	Gregory J.	Wescott	BS
29	Mahran M.	Zatar	BS

Membership Roster-Masters' Students

Sr. No.	First name	Last name	Degree
30	Fadi	Alhomidat	Master's
31	Rama	Boyapati	Master's
32	Sahit	Bunga	Master's
33	Divya	Garimella	Master's
34	Kaustubh	Gosavi	Master's
35	Thu K.	Hoang	Master's
36	Mohammadreza	Khajeh Hosseini	Master's
37	Praveen	Koganti	Master's
38	Mirrella	Mahapatra	Master's
39	Mehrnaz	Mehraein	Master's
40	Alireza	Moradzadehkarimi	Master's
41	Venkat	Nagaraju	Master's
42	Essam	Nassar	Master's
43	Mohammed Shakir	Rajani	Master's
44	Joyce P.	Stanton	Master's
45	Obaid Hasan Raza	Syed	Master's

Membership Roster-Doctoral Students

Sr. No.	First name	Last name	Degree
46	Steven	Apell	Ph.D
47	Farhan Z	Khan	Ph.D
48	Sunil	Madanu	Ph.D
49	Arezoo	Memarian	Ph.D
50	Krishna	Methuku	Ph.D
51	Ziaur	Rahman	Ph.D
52	Sirwan	Shahooei	Ph.D
53	Maryam	Zabihi	Ph.D