

GREATER HOUSTON AREA SECTION DISTRICT 9 INSTITUTE OF TRANSPORTATION ENGINEERS

GREATER HOUSTON AREA ITE SECTION ACTIVITIES REPORT DECEMBER 31, 2014

Leadership

President Matthew Johnson, PE, PTOE, PTP, Johnson Traffic Design
Vice-President Pablo F. Valle – Metropolitan Transit Authority
Secretary/Treasurer Zina Schwartz, PE – AIA Engineers, Ltd
Section Representative Dustin Qualls, PE, PTOE, Traffic Engineers, Inc.

Financial status

Account balance as of December 31, 2014: \$14,799.66

General

The Section holds monthly luncheon meetings on the second Wednesday of the month, at the Houston Engineering and Scientific Society Club (HESS Club), located at 5430 Westheimer Road in Houston. The Section also has an active website and Facebook page to keep the members updated. The website can be found at http://www.texitehouston.org, along with the section blog, archived PDH information and registration for upcoming events.

Barbara Russell was elected as Secretary / Treasurer for 2015.

Shrimp Boil

The Shrimp Boil is Houston Section's main social event and is held every year in October. The 2014 annual Shrimp Boil was held at Bear Creek Park in northwest Harris County. Member, families and friends enjoyed a warm Saturday afternoon of fun and fellowship at the park. In addition to the gulf coast shrimp we served hot dogs, snacks and beverages. The kids enjoyed moonwalks (bounce houses), a piñata and games. The Shrimp Boil expenses totaled \$5,843.41 and the sponsorships totaled \$15,750

2016 Spring District Meeting

The Texas District Meeting will be hosted by the Greater Houston Section in the spring of 2016. The location has not been finalized yet.

Committees

The Section has three current standing committees: Membership, Webinar/Technical, and Program Committee. The Membership committee is chaired by Dave Wright, PE of AECOM, the Webinar/Technical Committee is cochaired by Koushik Arunachalam, PE of Arcadis, Inc. and Raj Basavaraju PE, PTOE of RK&K Engineers, the Program Committee is chaired by Suzanna Set, PE of Midtown Engineers, and the Scholarship committee is currently chaired by the President.

Membership

Grade	Number of Members
Fellow	29
International Member	140
Institute Affiliate	3
Student	20
Total	192

Webinars

Six webinars were presented for the benefit of our membership.

Date	Speaker	Topic	Attendees
March 6, 2014	Various Speakers	Let's Talk Performance	7
April 9, 2014	Various Speakers	Achieve your Agency's Objectives Using Automated Traffic Signal Performance Measures	6
May 7, 2014	Various Speakers	Automated Traffic Signal Performance Measure Case Studies	8
July 15, 2014	Various Speakers	PTV Vistro Demonstration	10
September 17, 2014	Various Speakers	TRB Webinar: Calibration Methods and Tools	11
October 22, 2014	Various Speakers	FLIR Thermal Detection – Bicycles and Pedestrians	8

2014 MONTHLY MEETINGS

Date (2014)	Speakers	Topic	Attendance
January	Commissioner Matt Sebesta	State of Brazoria County Traffic and	73
February	David Fink, Transtar	Transportation State of TranStar and ITS in the Region	77
March	Dr. John Jacob	The Ancillary Benefits of Placemaking	37
April	David Gornett	Grand Parkway Update	73
May	District Meeting		
June	Karen Othon (TxDOT) Mike Zientek (HNTB)	US 290 Update	62
July	Judge Ed Emmett - Harris County Judge	The State of Harris County Transportation	87
August	Jeffrey Weatherford, P.E., PTOE	City of Houston Traffic Operations Overview	82
September	District Meeting		
October	Shrimp Boil		
November	Tom Lambert, METRO	METRO Update	61
December	Section Business Meeting		78

Awards and Scholarships

The following engineer was the recipient of the Harvey E. Hawkins Young Engineer of the Year Award:

• Ms. Megan Siercks, P.E., PTOE, PTP