

GREATER HOUSTON AREA SECTION DISTRICT 9 INSTITUTE OF TRANSPORTATION ENGINEERS

GREATER HOUSTON AREA ITE SECTION ACTIVITIES REPORT JANUARY 31, 2012

Leadership

President	Dustin Qualls, PE, PTOE, Traffic Engineers, Inc.
Vice-President	_ Jason Vaughn, PE, City of Sugar Land Public Works Department
Secretary/Treasurer	Matthew Johnson, PE, PTOE, PTP, Freese and Nichols, Inc.
Section Representative	Manu Isaac, PE, Kimley-Horn and Associates, Inc.

Financial status

Account balance as of January 31, 2012: \$28,092

General

The Section holds monthly luncheon meetings on the second Wednesday of the month, at the Houston Engineering and Scientific Society Club (HESS Club), located at 5430 Westheimer Road in Houston. The Section also has an active website and Facebook page to keep the members updated. The website can be found at http://www.texitehouston.org, along with the section blog, archived PDH information and registration for upcoming events.

In addition, two Houston Section members have accepted leadership roles this year: Pablo Valle (for the local Membership Committee co-chair) and Lee Anne Dixon (for the section representative for the TexITE Membership Committee). Matt Johnson continues to serve as the chair and section representative to the TexITE Future Engineers Committee. He also accepted the role of Newsletter Editor for TexITE, Charles Stevens has replaced Matt as the Newsletter Committee representative.

Shrimp Boil

The Shrimp Boil is Houston Section's main social event and is held every year in October. The 2011 annual Shrimp Boil was held at Tom Bass Park in Precinct 1 of Harris County on October 1, 2011. Member, families and friends enjoyed a warm Saturday afternoon of fun and fellowship at the park. In addition to the gulf coast shrimp we served hot dogs, snacks and beverages. The kids enjoyed moonwalks (bounce houses), a piñata and games. The Shrimp Boil expenses were covered by ticket purchases and sponsorships. The 2012 annual Shrimp Boil will be







held on October 13, 2013, at McClendon Park in Precinct 3 of Harris County. McClendon Park offers several play areas for the kids, a splash pad, a disc golf course, soccer fields and trails. Adults and kids, alike, will be entertained with inflatable obstacle courses, games and competitions.

Committees

The Section has four current standing committees: Membership, Technical, Program and Web Committee. The Membership committee is co-chaired by Dave Wright, PE of AECOM and Pablo Valle of Houston Metro, the Technical Committee is chaired by Jack Shick, PE, PTOE of LJA Engineering, Inc., the Program Committee is chaired by Robert "Linc" Wright, PE of League City, the Web Committee is chaired by Dustin Qualls, PE, PTOE of Traffic Engineers Inc. The Scholarship committee is currently chaired by the President.

Membership

Based on the most current year membership information (August 2011), the Section has 190 due paying members, including 30 student members from local colleges and universities. The Section added 3 new members since February 2011. The Membership Committee is also developing a Welcome Brochure to distribute to new members starting this year.

Webinars

Fourteen webinars were presented for the benefit of our membership.

Date	Speaker	Topic	Attendance
February 2, 2011	PTOE Refresher Course	Traffic Engineering Studies	24
February 9, 2011	PTOE Refresher Course	Traffic Operations Analysis	25
February 16, 2011	PTOE Refresher Course	Operation Effects of Geometric Design	25
February 23, 2011	PTOE Refresher Course	Traffic Safety	20
March 2, 2011	PTOE Refresher Course	Traffic Control Devices	18
April 12, 2011	HCM Webinar #1	Overview	41
April 14, 2011	HCM Webinar #2	Applications of the new ATM Chapter	18
April 26, 2011	HCM Webinar #3	Changes to Unsignalized Methodologies	20
April 28, 2011	HCM Webinar #4	New Multi-Modal Urban Streets Methodologies	12
May 17, 2011	HCM Webinar #5	Signalized Methodologies in the new HCM	No tally
May 19, 2011	HCM Webinar #6	HCM Urban Streets	No tally
August 9, 2011	Various Speakers	Accessibility Guidelines	No tally
September 27,2011	Various Speakers	2009 MUTCD Signs and Markings	No tally
October 25, 2011	Various Speakers	Parking Design	No tally

No webinars have been presented in 2012. Two webinars have been scheduled so far:

- 1. Traffic Impact Studies February 10, 2012
- 2. Advanced Access Management for the Transportation Planner February 29, 2012

2011-2012 MONTHLY MEETINGS

Date	Speakers	Topic	Attendance
		Evaluation of Lighted Pavement Stop	
January 12, 2011	Jonathan Tydlacka, TTI	Bars at LRT Intersections	51
		City of Pearland Traffic and	
February 9, 2011	Narciso Lira, PE, City of Pearland	Transportation	46
March 2011	No local meeting, Statewide Meeting in Fort Worth		
April 13, 2011	George Greanias, Houston Metro	The New Metro	83
	Larry Blackburn, TxDOT Houston		
May 11, 2011	District	US 290 Corridor	75
June 8, 2011	Pat Walsh, PE, City of Sugar Land	City of Sugar Land Mobility Plan	51
July 13, 2011	John Sedlak, Houston Metro	Metro Strategic Partnering	74
August 10, 2011	Linc Wright, PE,City of League City	State of Traffic in League City	51
September 2011	No local meeting, Statewide Meeting in Garland		
October 2011	No local meeting, Annual Shrimp Boil		
	Debent Lee and Lie Mellen	Using Recycled E-Waste in	26
November 9, 2011	Robert Lee and Liz Walker	Transportation	26
December 14, 2011	Business Meeting		33
January 11, 2012	Comm. Clark, Galveston County	Galveston County Infrastructure	67

Awards and Scholarships

As part of the 2011 "Engineers Week", Charles Stevens, PE, PTOE, was named Younger Member of the Year for 2011. Mr. Stevens was honored at the January 2011 luncheon meeting.

The Section awarded Year 2010-2011 TexITE scholarships to two local transportation students enrolled in an undergraduate or post-graduate academic program. Min Zhang was awarded \$1,500 and Yang He was awarded \$500 in scholarships and certificates for their academic achievements. The Section decided to increase the amount for future TexITE scholarships to a total of \$3,000 (with the single recipient maximum at \$2,000).