

Summer Business Meeting June 24, 2006 Hilton Hotel and Convention Center College Station, Texas

- 1. President Brian Van De Walle called the meeting to order at 12:14 p.m.
- 2. John Black delivered the invocation.
- 3. Secretary-Treasurer Rick Charlton noted that the meeting minutes from the San Antonio Winter Meeting were passed out, and called for any corrections. Wayne Kurfees moved for approval, and was seconded by Jim Carvell. The minutes were approved by common consent.
- 4. International Director Robert Wunderlich reported on his attendance at the International Board Meeting. He indicated the emphasis on the professional development through webinars and trying to keep them as low cost as possible. He requested assistance from the membership to provide ideas for webinars or assist in creating webinars. ITE is also allowing members to sign up for one council free as a member, and information about that and other councils will be pushed to them. International is also working with districts and sections to increase membership and to focus particularly on recruiting new members from public agencies by developing a public agency database.
 - International Vice President Earl Newman followed up with news from International indicating emphasis on the need for successful practices sharing, testing going forward for new practitioner, specialist and planner certifications, international aspects of ITE as a Mega Issue, and public relations and public image. He praised the work of the District Board, the Local Arrangements Committee, and particularly the involvement of students in District activities.
- 5. President Brian Van De Walle announced the call for ballots for the election of District officers, offering ballots to those who had not yet voted. He urged members to vote in the upcoming election for International Vice President. He reported that the District is active and financially solvent. Van De Walle also praised the students for their participation.
- 6. The Budget and Finances Report was distributed and discussed by Secretary-Treasurer Rick Charlton. He indicated that the report shows the District to be financially healthy, and that everything appears to be within budget. The 2007 budget will be presented at the Winter Meeting in Houston.
- 7. Dave Carter made the Tellers Committee's report. Rick Charlton was elected Vice President and Brian Jahn was elected Secretary-Treasurer. Wayne Kurfees moved to accept the Tellers report and to destroy the ballots. The motion was seconded by numerous members and approved by common consent.
- 8. College Station Local Arrangements Chair Srinivasa Sunkari reported on the current meeting, remarking that there were 229 preregistered for the meeting, provided other meeting statistics, and drawings for door prizes were conducted.
 - Connie Clark reported on arrangements for the Winter Meeting in Houston. It will be held February 1-3, 2007 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel downtown.

Taylor Withrow reported the Summer Meeting would be held in Amarillo at the Fifth Season Inn June 14-16, 2007.

- Dan Vedral presented an invitation from Irving to host the Winter 2008 Meeting. There were no other invitations, and President Van De Walle called for a vote and Irving was selected by common consent.
- 10. Praveen Pasumarthy gave the Newsletter report, and was personally commended by Dr. Neil Rowan for an outstanding job as Newsletter Editor.
- 11. Section reports were presented.
 - Brazos Valley Section report was presented by Srinivasa Sunkari
 - Capital Area Section report was presented by Rebecca Bray
 - Greater Fort Worth Section report was presented by Russ Wiles
 - Greater Dallas Section report was presented by Mark Titus
 - Greater Houston Section report was presented by Ramesh Gunda
 - South Texas Section report was presented by Brian Jahn
- 12. Student Chapter reports were facilitated by Gary Thomas. Reports were presented by University of Texas at Austin, University of Texas at Arlington, University of Texas at El Paso, Texas Southern University, and Texas A & M University.
- 13. Committee reports were presented. Gary Thomas provided the Website report. Harvey Hawkins congratulated Gary on an excellent job as Webmaster. Gary Thomas briefly reported on Student Chapters. Walter Ragsdale reported for the Legislative Committee that the Attorney General ruled to allow cities to install red light photo enforcement on state routes. Jennifer Butcher reported for the Younger Members Committee that the younger members will be planning one session for future technical sessions. Melisa Finley reported on activities of the Committee for Future Engineers. Nada Trout reported for the Technical Committee. Dave Carter announced that the Consultant's Council formed 20 years ago serving TexITE and providing financial assistance for student attendance at TexITE meetings. He reported on the Texas Hold'em Tournament they sponsored handed out \$1,600 in prizes.
- 14. Awards and Special Recognition presentations were made. Golf tournament awards were presented by Jerry Ullman. President Van De Walle recognized Paul Luedtke for service as 2004-05 Dallas Section Representative. He commended Marc Jacobson for outstanding service as our first Webmaster, serving for five years from 2000 to 2005. He recognized Emily Braswell's service as Newsletter Editor for 2004-2005. Robert Wunderlich was commended for his service as Student Liaison. The Section Activities Award was presented to the Greater Fort Worth Section. Gary Thomas presented the Outstanding Student Awards to Erin Eurek from Texas A & M, Warren Curtis from Texas Southern, Jeff LaMondia from Texas at Austin, Bikash Gautam from Texas at El Paso, Sasanka Pulipati from Texas at Arlington. Texas A & M University was awarded 2006 Outstanding Student Chapter. The Awards Committee commended Texas Southern as being much improved. Dennis Christiansen awarded Brooke Ullman Young Member of the Year. Jim Carvell awarded the honor of Transportation Engineer of the Year to Jack Hatchell, who made a gracious acceptance speech.
- 15. New Executive Board Officers Jason Crawford, Rick Charlton and Brian Jahn were sworn in by International Vice President Earl Newman.
- 16. President Van De Walle adjourned the meeting at 1:41 p.m.