

## Summer TexITE Meeting June 25<sup>th</sup>, 2005, Laredo, Texas San Augustin Room

## **Minutes - Business Meeting**

- 1. President Connie Clark called the meeting to order at 12:10 p.m.
- 2. President Clark made a final call for ballots and announced the members of the teller's committee.
- 3. President Clark noted that the winter business meeting in February were distributed among the tables. The minutes were approved by common consent.
- 4. Director Jim Carvell gave the International Director's Report. He informed the membership that Hugo Malanga received ITE Life Membership; the board of directors voted to increase membership benefits by waiving one council fee per member; the next PTOE exam is scheduled for October 2005; and he discussed upcoming ITE international meetings.
- 5. President Clark gave her President's Report. She discussed that we will be working toward non-profit status in the near future. She also remarked that a new membership form was approved at the board meeting
- 6. Vice-President Brian Van De Walle reported on the technical program.
- 7. Secretary-Treasurer Jason Crawford made a report on the budget and finances. He reported the 2005 treasury balance and reviewed the current annual budget. He concluded by presenting the 2006 budget which was distributed among the tables.
- 8. Local Arrangements Committee reports were made. Roberto Murillo addressed the group on the current Summer 2005 meeting. He announced that there were 155 registrants and discussed other meeting statistics. The golf winners were announced: First Place George Gallegos, Michael Padilla, Danny Magee, and Eduardo J. Gutierrez; Second Place Alex Reyna, Ian Lee, Cesar Molina, Michael Hofener, and Alex Barrientes; Third Place Jose M. Rendon, James B. Sparks, Brian Van DeWalle, and Christopher Pierce; Longest Drive George Gallegos; and Closest to Pin Michael Hofener.

Director Jim Carvell previously reported on plans for the Winter 2006 meeting in San Antonio. This meeting will be held in conjunction with the ITE mid-year technical meeting. The meeting will be in March.

Srini Sunkari reported on the Summer 2006 meeting in College Station. He announced that the meeting dates are June 8-10, 2006. The meeting will be held at the College Station Hilton.

With no others accepting an invitation to host, Houston was approved as the site for the Winter 2007 meeting.

- 9. There were no section reports.
- 10. Robert Wunderlich facilitated the student chapter reports from representatives of each chapter attending.
- 11. Robert Wunderlich facilitated the student awards. The Outstanding Student Chapter was awarded to Texas A&M University. There were no submissions for the Outstanding Student

- Paper. The Outstanding Student Awards went to Jordon Botticello (UT Austin), Erin Eurek (Texas A&M), Sasanka Pulipati (UT Arlington), Jessica Hernadez (UT El Paso), and Kenneth Brown (Texas Southern University).
- 12. Wayne Kurfees gave the Consultant Council report. Kurfees reported that there are 24 member firms. Dave Carter is Chair and Gilmer Gaston is the Secretary-Treasurer.
- 13. Several committee reports were made. Susan Langdon reported on the membership database. She is expecting to create a PDF membership roster in a couple of weeks. Emily Braswell reported on the newsletter. She acknowledged her assistants: Michelle Barnes and Dena Jackson. She also reported that rates will be increasing. Jennifer Butcher did not report on the Younger Members Committee. Gary Thomas reported that a new district website would be released soon. Srini Sunkari reported on the Technical Committee. He noted that Paul Luedtke, Mark Olson, Emily Braswell are some of the members reconstituting this group. The group seeks a chair and other members from other areas in the profession.
- 14. President Clark reported the results from the teller's committee. The election results were: Jason Crawford is elected Vice-President, Rick Charlton is elected Secretary-Treasurer, and Robert Wunderlich is elected International Director. A motion from the floor was made to accept and destroy ballots. The motion carried.
- 15. President Clark swore in Brian Van De Walle as President, Jason Crawford as Vice-President, and Rick Charlton as Secretary-Treasurer.
- 16. In other business, Connie Dudek stood and recognized the success of the Undergraduate Fellows program.
- 17. The business meeting adjourned at 1:10 p.m.